It’s not my phone…

I clocked this a few weeks ago. Whether it was just because I work in the mobile industry that I spotted the advert in the Metro and was intrigued enough to want to know more – or whether the advert just worked – I couldn’t tell you. But I did remember the URL and sat down at my desk in the morning wanting to know more about the advert.
If you haven’t seen this, it’s a campaign that’s been running since Oct 15th and I believe is due to run through to and beyond Christmas. A simple format – 3 women, 3 continents, 3 stories – all played out in mobile and social media (with a healthy dose of print and TV spots). At the heart of the campaign is the notion that you can tell so much about someone by looking at their phone.

 

These lives are fictional and Wieden & Kennedy has evidently put together 3,750 pieces of scripted content to tell the tales of these characters online via Facebook and on the campaign site. As you might imagine the campaign is one designed to grow organically, and to recruit people to sign-up as friends with these fictional characters, interact with the script (via text/MMS messages etc) and to help build the stories.  The microsite has already clocked up 3million plus viewers – so the campaign seems to be drawing people in, would be good to see how long it keeps people engaged. One measure, number of Facebook friends, seems particualarly low – with Anna (the London character) just attracting 56 friends so far.
I certainly applaud the campaing for its innovation and bravery – it certainly has the right intentions and takes a more interactive, and engaging approach to such a big campaing. I’m clearly not the target market (female biased to support the launch of Nokia’s Supernova range of phones) and found the tales of the characters quite dull; I just didn’t find them interesting enough to warrant me wanting to come back and see how their stories played out. But as I said I’m not the target market.

 

Ella Fullagar, a 15 year old interviewed in Campaign last week about this body of work, who is target market – seems to agree with me. I quote “It was really boring as you had to repeatedly click through the messages… I don’t think it will appeal to much to  anyone in my age group because it’s so time consuming”.

That being said. I do like the approach and as i’ve said the bravery. Perhaps one step bolder, and actually involving real people in very real and interesting lives, could be a way to make it more interesting/engaging and authentic. In fact, isn’t this really what Obama just managed to do so successfully – real life, real people, real stories all played out across online/mobiles/print/TV and much much more besides…

  

***I do work with Motorola in the UK

Technorati Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

